Seatrade Maritime Awards Categories

Please see the new revised Seatrade Maritime Awards Middle East, Indian Subcontinent & Africa categories for 2020 below.

The eight award categories focus primarily on the achievements over the last 12 months (from July 2019 onward). Each entry is judged on the achievements by companies or individuals in each of the criteria set out below.

Logistic Solution of the Year Award

This Award will recognise a new technology or system or a new infrastructure development introduced in the past year, which has made a significant contribution to the advancement of efficiency in the door to door movement of cargo. Entries will be welcomed for innovative solutions which can demonstrate quantifiable efficiency gains with supporting evidence.

Sponsored by:

Shipping Company of the Year Award

Identifying the regional shipping company from any sector which has responded most effectively to the challenging market conditions of the previous 12 months through operating flexibility or the adjustment of its offering to new normal trading conditions.

Sponsored by:

Pandemic Response Award 

The pandemic has created a unique set of challenges for maritime companies’ relationships with their employees, stakeholders, and with the communities they operate in. This award will recognise an outstanding example of a corporate response to one or more of these challenges.

Sustainability Award

Following a year in which the industry’s relationship with the environment has been in high profile, with a new regulatory regime ( IMO 2020 ) and strong focus on its carbon footprint, this Award will recognise an exceptional initiative from within the region that supports sustainable maritime commerce.

Sponsored by:

Intelligent Shipping Award

As the industry in the region accelerates its engagement with digital technologies and automated solutions in port and at sea, this Award will identify an exceptional example of the successful implementation of a new technology solution which offers measurable efficiency benefits.

In association with:

Diversity & Equality Award

Recognising a company or individual who has promoted the principle of diversity of employment across the region.

Sponsored by:

In association with:

Personality of the Year 2020 Award

Recognising an individual who has contributed exceptional leadership and innovative thinking to the industry in recent years.

Sponsored by:

Outstanding Achievement 2020 Award

Following a challenging year, this special Award will be presented to an individual who has made a special contribution to the enhancement of the industry and its standing in the region in the previous 12 months.

Sponsored by:

Lifetime Achievement 2020 Award

This award is to honour an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to shipping and the maritime industry.

Sponsored by:

Conditions of Entry:

  1. Entrants may submit entries in more than one category. If submitting more than one entry, a separate form must be completed for each. 
  2. No entry will be considered by the judges if the entry summary is not complete.
  3. Seatrade reserves the right to publish, in whole or part, details of any entries submitted for the Seatrade Maritime Awards 2020, following announcement of the shortlist.
  4. All entries for the Seatrade Maritime Awards 2020 must be received by 23.00 GMT on Thursday 1 October 2020.
  5. No correspondence will be entered into concerning the eligibility of any application.
  6. The judges shall have sole and absolute discretion in determining whether or not an application meets the requirements of or is in accordance with these rules and conditions.
  7. Seatrade Maritime Award winners are requested by the judges to give an update on the progress of their winning entry in future years.
  8. Entries must include sufficient information relevant to the criteria to enable the judges to have a clear understanding of the process, product or procedure involved, its merits and resulting benefits. Accuracy of figures and other information is essential.
  9. The entry must have been developed (and proven successful) or debuted within the evaluation year (from July 2019 onward). Repetition of a previous entry is not considered original and will be marked down. However, if significant improvements and/or developments have been made in comparison to the previously submitted entry subject, then the entry will be judged on full merit.
  10. Any supporting material or additional information (website, video’s, brochure’s etc.) will be considered as supplementary information but not as the entry itself which should be submitted using the form and fields provided.

If you have any questions, please get in touch. Our team can provide advice and talk you through the entry process in more detail.

Share Your Success Story

Could you be our winner?

Whether you are a big corporation or a small start-up, if you’re based in the Middle East, Indian Subcontinent or Africa then Seatrade Maritime Awards is an unmatched opportunity to showcase your success. 

The eight award categories focus primarily on your achievements over the last 12 months celebrating the companies setting new standards of excellence during these unprecedented times.