2017 Winners

The best of maritime ambition, achievement and innovation

The winners of the 2017 Seatrade Awards were announced at the prestigious awards ceremony in front of a powerful network of maritime industry professionals. Companies from all over the world showed their strength after a rigorous shortlist process.

Safety at Sea Award - sponsored by Lloyd's Register


Collected by Mrs Sandra Antonovic, Chief Operating Officer, Reflex Marine Ltd

Presented by Gwynne Lewis, Head of Data, Digital and Software, Lloyd’s Register and Grant Elrick, Global Sales Director, Seatrade


Reflex Marine Ltd 


The transfer of personnel is essential for many operations in the maritime environment. Reflex Marine’s design objectives for the personnel carrier WAVE-4 focussed on reducing the identified risks. It adopted methodologies like those used to evaluate the safety performance of motor vehicles and assess the risk of injury. Vessel motion, crane speeds, sea states and the impact on the human body were among the criteria assessed. Reflex Marine developed a rigorous testing and verification program to confirm that these objectives had been met. With the combination of a carefully engineered carrier and comprehensive operational guidance it is anticipated WAVE-4 will ensure effective, safe transfers.


  • Collbaix Canarias, S.L.
  • Coltraco Ultrasonics
  • Dynaweb
  • Inmarsat
  • Martek Marine
  • Tasneef Maritime

Clean Shipping Award - sponsored by UK Ship Register


Collected by Mr Mitsuhiko Kidogawa, Regional Manager, Europe and Africa, ClassNK

Presented by Doug Barrow, Director, UK Ship Register and Grant Elrick, Global Sales Director, Seatrade





  • GAC EnvironHull Limited
  • LPP Combustion, LLC
  • MeteoGroup
  • Rivertrace Limited
  • Subsea Industries 

Investment in People Award - sponsored by Inmarsat


Collected by Dr William Moore, Senior Vice President, Shipowners Claims Bureau and Manager, American Steamship Owners Mutual Protection & Indemnity Association and Captain Robert Rayner, President, IDESS Interactive Technologies

Presented by Drew Brandy, Senior Vice President, Market Strategy, Inmarsat and Grant Elrick, Global Sales Director, Seatrade


American Steamship Owners Mutual Protection and Indemnity Association, Inc. and IDESS Interactive Technologies


The American Club sees managing crew competence as key to safety, security and environmental protection. Although training is essential for developing competence, knowledge and skills are often lost relatively soon after the training event, unless they are applied. To address this, the Club, together with IDESS IT developed an online Learning Management System that not only transfers knowledge but also monitors retention through periodic assessment. The output from the assessment of each candidate is analyzed. Any gaps identified are closed by links to relevant learning resources, thereby reinforcing retention systematically, supporting continual personal improvement, and maintaining crew competence.


  • Drydocks World Dubai
  • Malaysian Maritime Academy (MMA) Sdn Bhd
  • Manzanillo International Terminal - Panama, S.A.
  • Martek Marine
  • Merchant Navy Training Board 'Careers at Sea Ambassadors'
  • Port Tampa Bay

Digital Technology Award - sponsored by China Classification Society


Collected by Drew Brandy, Senior Vice President, Market Strategy, Inmarsat

Presented by Mr Zhang Hui, Director, European Regional Centre, China Classification Society and Vanessa Stephens, Global Events Director and  Managing Director Middle East and Indian Sub-Continent, Seatrade




  • ABB
  • AkzoNobel
  • Bahri
  • Nakilat
  • NAPA
  • Stena Bulk

Cyber Security Award - sponsored by DP World


Collected by Panos G. Moraitis, CEO, ASPIDA

Presented by Dirk Van den Bosch, Regional Commercial Director, Europe and Russia, DP World and Vanessa Stephens, Global Events Director and  Managing Director Middle East and Indian Sub-Continent, Seatrade




  • ABS
  • DNV GL
  • NCC Group
  • Steamship Insurance Management Services Limited

Fuel Efficiency Award


Collected by Mr Arnaud Jacques, Energy Efficiency Manager Harmony Class, STX France and Mr Simon Zielonka, Director, RCCL Marine Operation, UK Operations

Presented by Mary Bond, Managing Director, Publishing and Content, Seatrade and Vanessa Stephens, Global Events Director and  Managing Director Middle East and Indian Sub-Continent, Seatrade


STX France and Royal Caribbean


The world’s largest and most innovative cruise ship, Harmony of the Seas (2016), is the most energy efficient passenger ship built to date. A team effort between STX France and Royal Caribbean International, she combines innovative ship design with technological advancements, making her more than 20%* more efficient than her older sister, Allure of the Seas (2010). Comprised of 89 energy efficiency initiatives, it was not one major improvement that drove the incredible fuel savings, but rather the holistic approach which evaluated and addressed every function on board: propulsion, hull design, power generation, energy recovery, machinery, hotel and HVAC. *daily fuel consumption/passenger


  • ABB
  • APL
  • DNV GL
  • Eniram
  • NRG Marine Ltd

Corporate Social Responsibility Award


Collected by Mr Morten Ingebrigsten, Director, Asset Management, Pacific Basin

Presented by Tom Boardley, Chairman, The Mission to Seafarers and Commodore Barry Bryant, Director General, Seafarers UK and Andrew Williams, General Manager, Seatrade


Pacific Basin


  • Aries Group of Companies

Deal of the Year


Collected by Mr Nikolay Kolesnikov, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Sovcomflot and Mr Alexander Verbo, Director, Finance Department and Group Treasury, PAO Sovcomflot

Presented by Andrew Williams, General Manager, Seatrade


PAO Sovcomflot


The Eurobond issue refinanced Sovcomflot’s debut Eurobond issue of 2010, maturing in 2017. Its significant size for an unsecured bond issue by a shipping company was remarkable, especially at a time when many investors were reducing their shipping industry exposure. Significantly, over 60 per cent of the investors were from international rather than Russian institutions. The Eurobonds were significantly oversubscribed, with the final yield being cut from an estimated 5.75 per cent to a very competitive 5.375 per cent.  The issue was timed to take advantage of a brief window of opportunity within the global financial markets at the time.


  • Pacific Basin
  • PAO Sovcomflot
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • Topaz Energy and Marine
  • Tristar Transport LLC
  • Wärtsilä

Global Performer 2017 - sponsored by DNV GL



A.P Moller-Maersk


Accepted on behalf of A.P. Moller-Maersk by Angus Frew, Secretary-General and CEO, BIMCO

Presented by Mr Knut Ørbeck-Nilssen, CEO Maritime, DNV GL, Chris Hayman, Chairman, Seatrade and Michael Duck, Executive Vice President, UBM Asia

Young Person of the Year 2017



Christian and Nikolaus Oldendorff, Owners, Reederei Nord


Presented by Professor Costas Th. Grammenos CBE, Chairman, Costas Grammenos Centre for Shipping, Trade & Finance, Cass Business School and Chris Hayman, Chairman, Seatrade

Personality of the Year 2017



Paddy Rodgers, CEO, Euronav


Presented by Kitack Lim, Secretary-General, International Maritime Organization (IMO), Chris Hayman, Chaiman, Seatrade and Simon Parker, Managing Director, UBM EMEA UK

Lifetime Achievement Award 2017 - sponsored by ABS



George J. Procopiou, Founder of Sea Traders S.A., Dynacom Tankers Management Ltd and Dynasgas Ltd.


Presented by Dr Kirsi Tikka, Vice President, Global Marine, ABS, Kitack Lim, Secretary-General, IMO and Chris Hayman, Chairman, Seatrade