10 November, 2023

W Shanghai - The Bund, Shanghai, China

Co - Host

Seatrade Awards 2018 Winners

Honouring the Brightest Stars From Across the Maritime Skyline

Celebrating a landmark 30th anniversary, Seatrade Awards 2018 saw fourteen more names collect a coveted Seatrade Award.

Safety at Sea

Announcer: Mr Yannis Calogeras, UK & Ireland Marine Chief Executive, Bureau Veritas UK

Received by: Mr Remko Huigen, M.D. MBA, Director Strategy and Business Development & Mr Walther Boon von Ochssee, Managing Director, MedAssist.online

Winner: MedAssist.online


  • Guidance Marine
  • Inmarsat
  • Rolls-Royce plc.
  • Thordon Bearings



Clean Shipping - Sponsored by UK Ship Register

Announcer: Mr Doug Barrow, Director, UK Ship Register

Received by: Ms Carine Magdo, Business Development Manager, Ballast Water Monitoring Solution, aqua-tools


Winner: aqua-tools


  • ECOsubsea AS
  • HullWiper Limited
  • NRG Marine
  • PAO Sovcomflot
  • Subsea Industries NV

Investment in People

Received by: Mrs Sandra Welch, Deputy CEO, Sailors’ Society

Winner: Sailors' Society


  • Singapore Maritime Academy, Singapore Polytechnic
  • The Mission to Seafarers

Digital Technology - Sponsored by China Classification Society (CCS)

Announcer: Mr Hui Zhang, Managing Director of CCS European Center

Received by: Mr Vigleik Takle, Vice President & Commercial Manager Maritime & Mr Petter Aanonsen, Digital Marketing Specialist, Kongsberg Digital

Winner: Kongsberg Digital


  • ABB Oy, Marine & Ports
  • ClassNK
  • DNV GL
  • NAPA Group
  • Tidetech Commercial Marine
  • Tritan Software Corporation

Cyber Security

Received by: Mr Itai Sela, CEO, Naval Dome

Winner: Naval Dome

Highly Commended: CSO Alliance


  • SOFTimpact Ltd
  • Stapleton International

Fuel Efficiency - Sponsored by DNV GL

Announcer: Mr Knut Ørbeck-Nilssen, CEO Maritime, DNV GL

Received by: Mr Klaus Østervold, COO, ECOsubsea AS

Winner: ECOsubsea AS

Highly Commended: The Fjords


  • Bluewater Trade Winds Pvt Ltd
  • MAN Diesel & Turbo SE
  • NRG Marine
  • PAO Sovcomflot
  • STX France

Corporate Social Responsibility Award

Announcer: Mr Nigel Shattock, Director Fundraising & Communications, Seafarers UK and The Revd Canon Andrew Wright, Secretary General, The Mission to Seafarers

Received by: Mrs Yvonne Katende, Customer Success Manager, Winnow

Winner: Costa Crociere S.p.A.

Highly Commended: Maritime Anti-Corruption Network


Deal of the Year

Received by: Mr Paddy Rodgers, CEO, EURONAV NV



  • CMB Financial Leasing Co., LTD.
  • Sunstone Ships

Seatrade Special 30th Anniversary Award

Winner: Mr Harry Theochari, Vice Chairman, Maritime London and Global Head of Transport, Norton Rose Fulbright

Industry Anniversary Award

Winner: International Association of Classification Societies (IACS)

Received by: Mr Knut Ørbeck-Nilssen, Chairman, IACS

Global Performer 2018 - Sponsored by DP World

Winner: China Cosco Shipping Corporation Limited

Announcer: Mr Rashid Abdulla, CEO and MD, DP World Europe and Russia Region, DP World

Received by: Mr Wang Gang, Director, Chief Executive, COSCO Shipping (UK) Co., Ltd

Personality of the Year 2018

Winner: Dr Nikolas P. Tsakos, Chairman, INTERTANKO and Founder & CEO, Tsakos Energy Navigation (TEN)

Lifetime Achievement Award 2018

Winner: Dr Ravi K. Mehrotra, CBE, Executive Chairman, Foresight Group

Young Person of the Year 2018

Winner: Capt. Jenny Evans, Master Spirit of France, P&O Ferries