Winners announced for Seatrade Awards 2017

George J. Procopiou, Founder of Sea Traders S.A., Dynacom Tankers Management Ltd and Dynagas Ltd. wins Seatrade Awards Lifetime Achievement accolade

George J. Procopiou, Founder of Sea Traders S.A., Dynacom Tankers Management Ltd and Dynagas Ltd. led a prestigious line up of winner’s at Seatrade Awards 2017 in London winning the Lifetime Achievement Award – one of the industry’s highest accolades.

He was amongst esteemed figures and noteworthy individuals from across the shipping industry who gathered to honour the outstanding achievements and distinguished careers of winners at the 29th Seatrade Awards.

The ceremony took place at the historic Grosvenor House on Park Lane with a new format for the presentation ceremony which drew attendance from over 300 of the maritime industry’s leading personalities. The afternoon was hosted by Editor of Seatrade Maritime Review, Robert Jaques, in the presence of the guest of honour, Kitack Lim, IMO Secretary-General.

Chris Hayman, Chairman of Seatrade, welcomed guests and made mention of the three new Intelligent Shipping Awards that have been introduced for 2017 whilst commenting that the three major Awards, for safety, clean shipping and investment in people, ‘of course remain in place, and I believe they always will’.

Mr Hayman also told the crowded room that ‘we are, as always, indebted to the Chairmen and Directors of the seven major international associations, and their assessors, for the work they do as judges and the unique industry experience they bring to the judging process.’

Other key industry names receiving awards included:

  • A.P. Moller-Maersk, collected by Angus Frew, Secretary-General and CEO, BIMCO, received the Global Performer Award
  • Christian Oldendorff and Nikolaus Oldendorff, Owners, Reederei Nord, were joint recipients of the Young Person of the Year Award
  • Paddy Rodgers, CEO, Euronav, received the Personality of the Year Award


The awards, in time old tradition, remain a secret until the presentation ceremony and the winners are unveiled to great fanfare and celebration.

A full list of the deserving Seatrade Award winners can be found below.

1. Safety at Sea

Sponsor: Lloyd’s Register
Announcer: Gwynn Lewis, Head of Data, Digital and Software, Lloyd’s Register
Recipient: Reflex Marine Ltd
Mrs Sandra Antonovic, Chief Operating Officer, Reflex Marine

2. Clean Shipping
UK Ship Register
Announcer: Doug Barrow, Director, UK Ship Register
Recipient: ClassNK
Mr Mitsuhiko Kidogawa, Regional Manager, Europe and Africa, ClassNK

3. Investment in People
Announcer: Drew Brandy, Senior Vice President, Market Strategy, Inmarsat
Recipient: American Steamship Owners Mutual Protection and Indemnity Association and IDESS Interactive Technologies, USA, for ‘The American Club e-Learning System’
Dr William Moore, Senior Vice President, Shipowners Claims Bureau and Manager, American Steamship Owners Mutual Protection & Indemnity Association and Captain Robert Rayner, President, IDESS Interactive Technologies

4. Digital Technology Award
China Classification Society
Announcer: Mr Zhang Hui, Director, European Regional Centre, China Classification Society
Recipient: Inmarsat
Drew Brandy, Senior Vice President, Market Strategy, Inmarsat

5. Cyber Security Award
DP World
Announcer: Dirk Van den Bosch, Regional Commercial Director, Europe and Russia, DP World
Recipient: ASPIDA
Panos G. Moraitis, CEO, ASPIDA

6. Fuel Efficiency Award
Mary Bond, Managing Director, Publishing and Content, Seatrade
Recipient: STX France and Royal Caribbean
Mr Arnaud Jacques, Energy Efficiency Manager Harmony Class, STX France and Mr Simon Zielonka, Director, RCCL Marine Operation, UK Operations

7. Corporate Social Responsibility Award
Tom Boardley, Chairman, The Mission to Seafarers and Barry Bryant, Director General, Commodore, Seafarers UK
Recipient: Pacific Basin
Mr Morten Ingebrigsten, Director, Asset Management, Pacific Basin

8. Deal of the Year
Andrew Williams, General Manager, Seatrade
Recipient: PAO Sovcomflot
Mr Nikolay Kolesnikov, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Sovcomflot and Mr Alexander Verbo, Director, Finance Department and Group Treasury, Sovcomflot

9. Global Performer 2017
Announcer: Mr Knut Ørbeck-Nilssen, CEO Maritime, DNV GL
Recipient: A.P Moller-Maersk
Accepted on behalf of A.P. Moller-Maersk by Angus Frew, Secretary-General and CEO, BIMCO

10. Young Person of the Year 2017
Professor Costas Th. Grammenos CBE, Chairman, Costas Grammenos Centre for Shipping, Trade & Finance, Cass Business School
Recipient: Christian and Nikolaus Oldendorff, Owners, Reederei Nord

11. Personality of the Year 2017
Kitack Lim, Secretary-General, International Maritime Organization (IMO)
Recipient: Paddy Rodgers, CEO, Euronav

12. Lifetime Achievement Award 2017
Announcer: Dr Kirsi Tikka, Vice President, Global Marine, ABS
Recipient: George J. Procopiou, Founder of Sea Tankers S.A., Dynacom Tankers Management Ltd and Dynasgas Ltd.





Charity Partners