Lord Mountevans receives Lifetime Achievement Award at Seatrade Awards 2019

Tuesday 7 May 2019 (London, UK) - Lord Mountevans, Chairman, Maritime London & President, Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers was announced as the recipient of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at tonight’s presentation ceremony for the 31st Seatrade Awards, which took place at London’s magnificent Guildhall.

A popular winner, Lord Mountevans was presented on the evening in front of nearly 250 esteemed guests by Chris Hayman, Chairman, Seatrade.

“Our Lifetime Achievement Award winner this evening has been involved with the shipping industry and in the governance of the City of London. In linking these two roles, he has become a thought leader for the industry in this country,” remarked Hayman.

Further high-profile personalities honoured at Seatrade Awards 2019 included:

  • Outstanding Contribution to the Growth of the Cruise Industry: Madam WANG Hong, Party Secretary General of Shanghai Municipal People’s Government, Baoshan District
  • Young Person of the Year 2019: Dr. Noura Al Dhaheri, Chief Executive Officer, Maqta Gateway Co
  • Integration of Women in the Maritime Sector Award: Dr. Kirsi Tikka, Executive Vice President and Senior Maritime Advisor, ABS
  • Global Performer 2019sponsored by DP World: Hapag-Lloyd AG (collected by Dr. Maximilian Rothkopf, Chief Operating Officer, Hapag-Lloyd AG)
  • Personality of the Year 2019: John Platsidakis, Honorary Chairman of INTERCARGO, Director of Angelicoussis Shipping Group Ltd, Managing Director of Maran Dry Management Inc

A total of thirteen winners were announced on the evening, which was hosted by Bob Jaques, Editor, Seatrade Maritime Review, in the presence of special guest RT Hon Chris Grayling MP, Secretary of State for Transport and official guest of honour Professor Dame Jane Francis, Director, British Antarctic Survey.

In time old tradition, the winners remain a secret until the presentation ceremony and the winners are unveiled to great fanfare and celebration.

A full list of the deserving Seatrade Award winners can be found below:

  • Safety at Sea - sponsored by Bureau Veritas: VIKING Life-Saving Equipment (product:VIKING LifeCraftTM)
  • Clean Shipping: Thordon Bearings (product: COMPAC)
  • Investment in People: Synergy Marine Group (product: Investment in People)
  • Digital Technologysponsored by CCS: Northrop Grumman Sperry Marine (product: VisionMaster Net)
  • Cyber Security: ABS (product: FCI Cyber Method)
  • Fuel Efficiency: Teekay Offshore (product: Teekay E- Shuttle – Training Emissions into Fuel)
  • Deal of the Year: Reed Smith

With thanks to our sponsors: Bureau Veritas; China Classification Society; DNV GL and DP World.


Caption: The winners of Seatrade Awards 2019 gather onstage to celebrate

Caption: Lord Mountevans, Chairman, Maritime London & President, Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers is announced as the winner of Lifetime Achievement Award at Seatrade Awards 2019

For more information on Seatrade Awards, please contact:
Daniel Cole Maritime Marketing Manager, Seatrade
Email: [email protected]

About Informa Markets

Informa Markets creates platforms for industries and specialist markets to trade, innovate and grow. Our portfolio is comprised of more than 550 international B2B events and brands in markets including Maritime, Healthcare & Pharmaceuticals to Infrastructure, Construction & Real Estate, Fashion & Apparel, Hospitality, Food & Beverage, and Health & Nutrition, among others. We provide customers and partners around the globe with opportunities to engage, experience and do business through face-to-face exhibitions, specialist digital content and actionable data solutions. As the world’s leading exhibitions organiser, we bring a diverse range of specialist markets to life, unlocking opportunities and helping them to thrive 365 days of the year. For more information, please visit the Informa Markets website.




Charity Partners