The fourteen categories now open for entry at Seatrade Maritime Awards have been designed to showcase both specific industry contributions and personal achievements.

Each entry will be considered by judges based on the criteria below.

Innovation Awards

Entries for these categories are judged by a dedicated independent judging panel.

Ship of the Year

Recognising the most innovative newbuilding of any vessel type or size, delivered between June 2020 and June 2022. The judges will assess new ship designs based on energy efficiency, environmental impact, sustainability, adoption of new technology, safety and security. Also considered will be the design’s operational versatility and adaptability to changing market conditions. .

Sponsored By:

Marine Technology Award

This award will recognise the development and / or application of innovative marine technology that has resulted in improved efficiencies and lower operating costs. Judges are looking for an outstanding innovation separating the project, product or process from its competitors. They will also be looking for a detailed description of the technology in question, how it has been used to meet goals, the return on investment and the customer benefit.

Sponsored By:

Industry Performance Awards

Entries for these categories are judged by a dedicated independent judging panel.

Ship Finance Deal of the Year Award

This Award will recognise a financing solution for a transaction concluded during the evaluation period. Entries will be assessed according to the size and scope of the deal as well as the innovative characteristics of the financing.

Shipping Company of the Year

Open to shipping companies in all market sectors, entries will be assessed according to their performance in the 12 months period up to June 2022, based upon their response to the prevailing market conditions and to the particular challenges of disruptions to trading patterns.

Sponsored by:

Sustainability Awards

Entries for these categories are judged by a dedicated independent judging panel.

Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance Award

Presented to a maritime organisation in any sector which has, during the evaluation period, shown exceptional responsibility in the way it conducts its business and in its commitment to good corporate governance. The Judges will be looking for evidence of good practice in environmental policy and social responsibility.

Sustainable Shipping Award

This Award will recognise the introduction of a new product, procedure or measures which will significantly improve the shipping industry’s progress toward the industry’s long-term goals for decarbonisation. Entrants will need to demonstrate actual or forecast reductions to emissions such as greenhouse gases or sulphur oxides, or other measured improvements which enable sustainable maritime transport and show ambition beyond simple regulatory compliance.

Sponsored by:

Logistics Excellence Awards

Entries for these categories are judged by a dedicated independent judging panel.

Logistics Solution of the Year

Powered by TOC Worldwide

This Award must recognise a new technology or system, or a new infrastructure development introduced within the assessment period, which has made a significant contribution to the advancement of efficiency in the door-to-door movement of cargo. This could include, but it’s not limited to, port technology and/or automation systems. Entries must evidence quantifiable efficiency gains and demonstrate the significance of the solution to the industry innovation. Solutions and new technologies/initiatives must have been implemented and developed by the entering company themselves within the assessment period. Entries will be marked down if the technology implemented is from a third party or created prior to the evaluation period.

Sustainable Supply Chain Management Award 

In association with International Marine Purchasing Association (IMPA)

This award will recognise companies and/or individuals putting sustainability at the heart of their supply chain management processes. Judges will be looking for quantifiable evidence of reduction of negative environmental and/or social impact, new ideas with cost effective business models, R&D commitment and the breadth of impact on organisational culture.

Editorial Choice Awards

Winners are chosen by representatives from the Seatrade Editorial Board.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Candidates should be under 40 years of age in November 2022. The Judges will be looking for an individual from any sector of the maritime industry who has demonstrated success in bringing new thinking to established industry practice or finding innovative solutions to ongoing industry challenges..

Global Personality Award

Recognising an individual who has excelled during the assessment period in a way that is of benefit to the industry as a whole.

Future Leaders of the Year

This category will recognise a group of individuals playing significant roles in the leadership of their respective organisations. It recognises achievements that are yet to reach career pinnacles but are instrumental in the current successes of their organisations.

Diversity & Inclusion Award

This Award recognises an individual or organisation that has demonstrated a particular commitment to achieving equality/diversity in a business environment. Supporting evidence should be provided to illustrate a commitment to diversity and inclusion.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is to honour an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to shipping and the maritime industry.

Sponsored by:

Global Performer Award

Awarded to a company or organisation which has contributed exceptionally to the development of global shipping and logistics.

Sponsored by: