Seatrade Maritime Awards International 2020 Announced

Seatrade has today (17 August 2020) announced the launch of a fourth event in its Seatrade Maritime Awards portfolio – to take place this November 6, 2020 in Shanghai, China.

Called Seatrade Maritime Awards International, the ceremony will be hosted by Shanghai International Port Group (SIPG) and organised by Seatrade, part of Informa Markets Maritime.

Whilst held in Shanghai, the Awards will invite entries from international companies and culminate in a physical awards ceremony with a virtual attendance option for international participants.

“We are immensely proud to host this new awards scheme,” said Mr. Gu Jinshan, President of China Ports & Harbour Association, Party Secretary and Chairman of Shanghai International Port Group (SIPG), “and firmly believe that this is the perfect opportunity to recognise internationally the incredible efforts of our industry in this difficult year. We look forward to working together to create a better future for the industry.” 

Addressing the potential challenge of launching a new event in 2020, Chris Morley, Event Director, Seatrade: “We are delighted to be able to announce the launch of a new event, hosted by Shanghai International Port Group (SIPG) – especially in a year when so many other events have had to be postponed or cancelled due to the ongoing pandemic in parts of the world. 

“To be able to do this, we have taken the guidance of our parent company, Informa Markets, to follow “All Secure” guidelines which set out a series of measures and parameters by which to safely and responsibly host live events in the near to midterm.”

Entries for the Seatrade Maritime Awards International will be opened on 17th August 2020 and judged by a prestigious panel of international judges that include: Dr Wang Jinbao, Researcher in ship hydrodynamics, Marine Design and Research Institute of China (MARIC); Chairman of ITTC Specialist Committee on Ship in Operation at Sea; and Deputy Director of SSNAME; Tim Power, Managing Director, Drewry and Roberto Giorgi, Former President, InterManager, Patrick Verhoven, Managing Director Policy and Strategy, International Association of Ports and Harbours and Peter Hinchliffe, Former Director General, International Chamber of Shipping.

The categories include:

  1. Logistic Solution of the Year Award
  2. Ship of the Year Award
  3. Ship Finance Deal of the Year Award
  4. Shipping Company of the Year
  5. Corporate Social Responsibility Award
  6. Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award
  7. Global Personality Award
  8. Lifetime Achievement Award
  9. Special Contribution Award of Shanghai International Shipping Center

Seatrade Maritime Awards International provides an unmatched opportunity for individuals and companies, big or small, to showcase their success and focus primarily on the achievements over the last 12 months celebrating the companies setting new standards of excellence and innovation.

- Ends -