Meet Seatrade Maritime Awards International 2020 Judges

Each category is judged by senior industry professionals and practitioners. These experts are hand-picked and hold leading roles within their industry, bringing with them a breadth of knowledge to ensure that the most deserving achievements and initiatives are rewarded.

Chair of Judges

Christopher Hayman


Christopher Hayman has been Chairman of Seatrade since 2005. He has been actively involved in the development of the company, including its publishing, conference and exhibition businesses, for general shipping, offshore marine and the cruise industry.

He has been involved in the establishment of the Seatrade Cruise Shipping Convention in Miami from its inception in 1985 and has been active in developing Seatrade’s businesses in Dubai and Singapore; as well as its activities around the world.

In 2007 he was awarded the John Lancaster-Smith Award for services to passenger shipping. In 2014 he sold Seatrade Communications Ltd to UBM but continues in his role as Chairman. UBM was subsequently acquired by Informa Group in 2018, and the Seatrade brand is now part of Informa Markets’ maritime portfolio.

In July 2020 he was invited to become Ambassador at Large for the Mission to Seafarers, which provides help to seafarers and their families around the world.

He is also Chairman and owner of a management training company, Seatrade Academy Ltd and a directory publishing company.

He has a degree in Modern History from Oxford University and started his career working in radio and television for CBC in Canada.

He is married with two sons and a daughter, and lives in Suffolk.

Logistic Solution of the Year Award Judges

Gu Jinshan

Chairman of Shanghai
International Port Group (SIPG) and Chairman of China Ports & Harbours Association

Laurence Jones

Deputy Chairman
International Cargo Handling Coordination Association (ICHCA) &
Risk Assessment Director, TT Club

Dr Patrick Verhoeven

Managing Director Policy and Strategy
International Association of Ports and Harbors

Ship of the Year Award Judges

Kevin Daffey

Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST)

Dr Wang Jinbao

Researcher in Ship Hydrodynamics, Marine Design and Research Institute of China (MARIC); Chairman of ITTC Specialist Committee on Ship in Operation at Sea; and Deputy Director of SSNAME

Zhang Shouguo

Executive President
China Shipowners' Association

Ship Finance Deal of the Year Award Judges

Prof. Costas Th. Grammenos CBE, DSc

Costas Grammenos Centre for Shipping, Trade and Finance, Cass Business School, City, University of London

René Kofod-Olsen

Chief Executive Officer

Zhang Ye

Shanghai Shipping Exchange

Shipping Company of the Year Award Judges

Michael Parker

Chairman, Global Shipping, Logistics & Offshore

Denis Petropoulos

The Baltic Exchange

Tim Power

Managing Director

Corporate Social Responsibility Award Judges

Roberto Giorgi

Former President

Peter Hinchliffe OBE

Former Secretary General
International Chamber of Shipping

Mo Jianhui

China Classification Society