Award Categories

The eight award categories focus primarily on the achievements over the last 12 months (from July 2019 onward). Each entry will be judged on achievements by companies or individuals in each of the criteria set out below.

Entries for these categories are judged by an independent panel, which features leading maritime associations.

Logistic Solution of the Year Award

This Award will recognise a new technology or system or a new infrastructure development introduced in the past year, which has made a significant contribution to the advancement of efficiency in the door to door movement of cargo. Entries will be welcomed for innovative solutions which can demonstrate quantifiable efficiency gains with supporting evidence.

Ship of the Year Award

Recognising the most innovative newbuilding delivered during the 12 months to June 1, 2020. The judges will assess new ship designs based on energy efficiency, environmental impact, sustainability, adoption of new technology, safety and security. Also considered will be the design’s operational versatility and adaptability to changing market conditions.

Ship Finance Deal of the Year Award

This Award will recognise a financing solution for a transaction concluded in the 12 months to July 1, 2020. Entries will be assessed according to the size and scope of the deal as well as the innovative characteristics of the financing.

Shipping Company of the Year Award

Open to shipping companies in all market sectors, entries will be assessed according to their performance in the 12 months to July 1, 2020, based upon their response to the prevailing market conditions and to the particular challenges of disruptions to trading patterns.

Corporate Social Responsibility Award

Presented to a maritime organisation in any sector which has demonstrated an exceptional example of support for its employees or the community in which it operates in the year to July 1, 2020. Judges will take into account the particular operating environment of the past 12 months and look for examples of where an organisation has risen to the unique challenges of the period.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Candidates should be under 40 years of age on July 1, 2020. The Judges will be looking for an individual from any sector of the maritime industry who has demonstrated success in bringing new thinking to established industry practice or finding innovative solutions to ongoing industry challenges.

Global Personality Award

This award will recognise an individual who has excelled during the past 12 months in a way that is of benefit to the industry as a whole.

Special Contribution Award to Shanghai Shipping Construction*
Special Honours Award to Shanghai Shipping Construction*

*The recipients of these awards will be appraised by an expert panel.

Conditions of Entry:

  1. Entrants may submit entries in more than one category. If submitting more than one entry, a separate form must be completed for each. 
  2. No entry will be considered by the judges if the entry summary is not complete.
  3. Seatrade reserves the right to publish, in whole or part, details of any entries submitted for the Seatrade Maritime Awards International 2020, following announcement of the shortlist.
  4. All entries for the Seatrade Maritime Awards International 2020 must be received by 23.59 GMT on Friday 18 September 2020.
  5. No correspondence will be entered into concerning the eligibility of any application.
  6. The judges shall have sole and absolute discretion in determining whether or not an application meets the requirements of or is in accordance with these rules and conditions.
  7. Seatrade Maritime Award International winners are requested by the judges to give an update on the progress of their winning entry in future years.
  8. Entries must include sufficient information relevant to the criteria to enable the judges to have a clear understanding of the process, product or procedure involved, its merits and resulting benefits. Accuracy of figures and other information is essential.
  9. The entry must have been developed (and proven successful) or debuted within the evaluation year (from July 2019 onward). 
  10. Any supporting material or additional information (website, video’s, brochure’s etc.) will be considered as supplementary information but not as the entry itself which should be submitted using the form and fields provided.

Could you be our winner?

Whether you are a big corporation or a small start-up Seatrade Maritime Awards International is an unmatched opportunity to showcase your success.

The eight award categories focus primarily on your achievements over the last 12 months celebrating the companies and individuals setting new standards of excellence.